Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top

Published on May 09, 2023

The Philosophy Program Holds Its First Honor Society Induction Ceremony

On Wednesday, April 25, 2023 six students in the Philosophy program were inducted into Phi Sigma Tau, Eastern’s chapter of the International Honor Society in Philosophy. Christian Giliberto, Malek Allari, Katherine Escalante, Daniel Geer, Frank Suzuki, and Benjamin Williams were all presented with a welcoming induction ceremony led by Dr. Ana Funes-Maderey, Professor Karl Stocker, and Dean Emily Todd. This is the first year that Phi Sigma Tau has inducted students at Eastern Connecticut State University. 

Not every institution qualifies to have a Pi Sigma Tau Chapter, and not every philosophy student qualifies to be inducted into its ranks so ECSU and the Political Science, Philosophy, and Geography department are ecstatic to congratulate these students for this amazing achievement. This induction ceremony and its first time at Eastern shows the community the commitment and excellence in the philosophy program that Eastern has been working hard to pursue. Dr. Funes-Maderey, the chair of the Philosophy program stated “The Installation of the Philosophy Honors Society Phi Sigma Tau at Eastern consolidates the work of almost ten years in establishing the Philosophy Major at ECSU, the only Public Liberal Arts College in Connecticut.  Membership in this Society recognizes that our program has academic excellence and that students at Eastern are interested and dedicated to the cultivation of careful, caring, and rigorous thinking.”

Our philosophy students at Eastern understand that the program provides them with the ability to not only answer questions, but to learn how to in a respectable manner. We are excited to see what the future holds for these great, young philosophers.  

Written By Marcel Vicente

Professor of Philosophy Karl Stocker leads the induction ceremony

Dr. Emily Todd, Dean of School Arts & Sciences gives a reflection

Professor Karl Stocker and the 2023 Inductees