Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top

Henry Barnard Scholar Awards

The award is named for the first U.S. commissioner of education, Henry Barnard, a distinguished Connecticut educator who was the state's first superintendent of schools and principal of what later became Central Connecticut State University. It is awarded annually to 12 outstanding college students from the four Connecticut State Universities honored by the Connecticut State University System Foundation for their academic excellence and community service.

To be considered for a Barnard Award, a student must have at least a 3.75 GPA and a record of significant community service. The students are nominated by their respective universities and presidents.

Recent recipients from Mathematics are:

Richard Magner, 2015
Sara Hanrahan, 2009
Brian Whitehead, 2006
Richard Freeman, 2003


Previous recipients from Mathematics:

Kimberly Gay, 2000
Tara Wohllebe, 1992
Laura Hook, 1990