Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top

Sigma Tau Delta

Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony December 4, 2019
Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony December 8, 2022

Exceptional English majors may be recognized by the department by being offered membership in Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society. Additionally, they might be further recognized by being offered the opportunity to complete an English Honors Thesis

Sigma TD

Membership in Sigma Tau Delta, the English Honors Society, is an outward recognition of personal accomplishment. It provides opportunities for those interested in English language and literature to join with like-minded persons on the local, regional, national, and international levels.

The minimum requirements for membership in the ECSU Alpha Epsilon Delta chapter of Sigma Tau Delta are as follows:

  • Declared major in English or English-focused concentration in an interdisciplinary major
  • Minimum of 4 ENG courses at 200-level or above completed at ECSU
  • Minimum 3.5 average in the English major/concentration
  • Minimum 3.0 overall GPA

Each semester, department faculty will consider a list of students meeting the above requirements and nominate those whose intellectual ability, course work and character are deemed worthy of this special distinction. Students nominated by at least two faculty may be invited to join Sigma Tau Delta.

Members of Sigma Tau Delta receive the following benefits:

2023 Alpha Epsilon Delta Chapter Executive Board:
Presidents: Benjamin Williams
Vice President: Jordan Baker
Secretary: Sara Swift
Treasurer: Marcus Grant
Historian: Samantha Pine

Current Members: Adam Jablonski, Rachel Jackman, Alyssa Meneo, Clelie-Ann Ryan, Maddison Attardi, Juliette Cardinal, Kaylee Connors, Alexis Dudek, Phoebe Gediman, Marcus Grant, Sara Green, Elliot Lawrence IV, Jocelyn Madden, Sophia Markley, Olivia Melillo, Lauren Mayotte, Danielle Murphy, Samantha Pine, Alizha Sanchez, Paige Stegina, Jessica Vieira, Hayley Walden, Benjamin Williams.

Eastern's Sigma Tau Delta chapter can be reached at

Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony December 6, 2016
Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony December 6, 2016
Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony December 6, 2017
Sigma Tau Delta Induction Ceremony December 6, 2017
Sigma December 2018
Sigma Tau Delta Indcution Ceremony December 5, 2018