Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top

Safety & Health Committee

Eastern has a Safety & Health Committee with members representing a broad cross section of the campus community. Section 31-40v of the Connecticut General Statutes outlines the establishment of safety and health committees and requires that every covered employer administer this group to promote health and safety in places of employment. The purpose of this regulation is to specify rules for establishing and administering committees which will bring employers and employees together in a non-adversarial, cooperative, and effective effort to promote safety and health at each work site.

This committee meets monthly during the academic year to discuss any health or safety matters that come to their attention and makes recommendations or requests to remediate any identified issues.

REMEMBER TO DIAL 911 to address any immediate health or safety matters. Please feel free to contact any of the current committee members to address a campus health or safety concern.

  • Patricia McCarthy, Child & Family Development Resource Center
  • Nicole Brown, Assistant Director, Human Resources
  • Elizabeth Cowles, Department Chair, Biology
  • Durado Bailey, Human Resources
  • Joe Salvaggio, Senior Director of Dining Services
  • Steve Day, Facilities, GTW
  • Edward Figiela, Associate Director of Facilities Operations
  • Stephen Tavares, Chief of Police/Director of Public Safety
  • Eric Germain, Environmental Health & Safety
  • Angela Bazin, Director, Housing and Residential Life
  • Silas Gray, Bio/Phys Sci/EES Depts., Technical Supervisor
  • Terry Roye, Associate Vice President of Facilities Management & Planning
  • Jason Wadeki, Technical Supervisor FAIC
  • Bill Geitner, Men’s Basketball Coach
  • Brooks Scavone, Director, Office of Accessibility Services
  • James Howarth, Vice President for Finance & Administration