Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top
decorative element

Published on January 25, 2021

Andrea Bowers & Suzanne Lacy

Suzanne Lacy & Andrea Bowers This Earth, What She is to Me, video,3:36 duration, 2020.


THIS EARTH-What She Is to Me, is a new (mid-covid) collaboration by ANDREA BOWERS AND SUZANNE LACY honoring the work of eco-feminist poet Susan Griffin in a collective reading from the 1978 book, Woman and Nature, The Roaring Inside Her. It was made for Create Art for Earth, a partnership between Judy Chicago, Jane Fon-da, Hans Ulrich Obrist and the Serpentine Galleries, Swoon, National Museum of Women in the Arts, Fire Drill Fridays and Greenpeace. Performers in order of appearance: Andrea Bowers, Catherine Opie, Kristina Wong, Chelo and Luna Montoya, Mónica Mayer, Hyun Kyung Chung, Susan Griffin, Leslie Labowitz-Starus, Juno Stilley and Jess Gooding, Lucía Sanromán, Kelly Curry, Patty Chang, Asia Gonza-lez, Barbara T. Smith, Cauleen Smith, Laverne Woods Dunn, Zut Lorz, Lauren Bon, Simone Forti, Ellen Sebastian Chang, Donna Deitch and Terry Jentz, Judy Baca, Mary Weatherford, Beatriz Cortez, Jodie Evans, Ingrid von Sydow, Lauren Halsey, Suzanne Lacy, Nao Bustamante.

The artists acknowledge Lindsay Mofford for editing, Bill Russell for color grading, Tasha Skotniki for sound and Julieta Gil for graphic design.