Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top

Frequently Asked Questions about Payment Options and the Credit Card Convenience Fee

  • Eastern's annual expense for supporting credit card payments totals more than $250,000.
    Concern for these costs to Eastern and the other Connecticut State Universities led the Board of
    Trustees for the Connecticut State University System to pass Board Resolution #11-33. Included
    in this resolution is a 2.95 percent/$3 miminum convenience fee on credit card transactions. This includes payments for any charges shown on your bill, including tuition, fees, parking tickets, library
    fines, and other charges. Eastern will implement this policy change effective October 1, 2011.

  • Eastern will accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit cards. Due to these
    changes we can only accept credit card payments on-line. We can no longer accept mailed, faxed
    or in-person credit card payments.

  • You can make online payments using your debit card. Debit Card payments will not be assessed the 2.95 percent/$3 minimum convenience fee.


  • We will continue to accept this popular form of payment. Electronic checks will not be assessed a
    2.95 percent/$3 minimum convenience fee.

  • When you make an online credit card payment you will receive a message asking if you agree to pay a convenience fee for using a credit card. The convenience fee will be calculated at 2.95 percent on the amount you pay. For example, if you pay $1,000, your credit card will be charged $1,000 plus a $29.50 convenience fee. That convenience fee will appear on your student account.

  • No. The convenience fee is a non-refundable charge.


  • Yes. housing deposits, tuition deposits and any donations made to the ECSU
    Foundation, Inc., are not subject to the convenience fee.

  • For your Eastern EXPRE$$ card, used for purchasing goods and services at Eastern:

    1. You add funds directly through Card Services, in person (check or money order only) or online at
    2. You will be charged a 2.95% convenience fee. 
    3. You can use debit/credit VISA or Discover cards.
  • The credit card payment changes will be effective October 1, 2011.

  • There are several other options to pay your bill:

    1. ELECTRONIC CHECK - Online payment by electronic check uses funds directly from a checking or
      savings account. This method of payment is becoming more popular with families. It's easy to set up on your student account. Payments are secure and instantly applied to the account, without a
      convenience fee
    2. IN-PERSON - Payment in-person by cash, check or money order can be presented at the
      Bursar's Office during regular business hours. The office is open Monday through Friday
      8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. While credit card payments will not be accepted at the Cashier's window,
      computers are nearby in the Wood's Support Center lobby where credit card payments can be made. The non-refundable convenience fee will apply.
    3. BY MAIL - Check and money order payments can be mailed to: Eastern Connecticut State
      University 83 Windham Street Attn: Cashier's Office Willimantic, CT 06226
    4. TUITIONPAY INSTALLMENT PLANS - Another popular option is to pay your semester bill in five
      monthly installments. This service is managed by Sallie Mae and allows you an interest- free way
      to break down your tuition expenses. For more information, visit or call (800) 635-0120 to speak with a Sallie Mae
  • Yes, colleges and universities all over the country have made similar credit card payment and
    convenience fee policy changes. All four universities in the CSU System (Eastern, Western, Central
    and Southern) are implementing a convenience fee. Other Connecticut colleges and universities that
    currently charge a credit card convenience fee include UCONN, the University of Hartford and Sacred
    Heart University.

  • No. The credit card companies will not honor checks used electronically. The payment will be
    returned as "account not found" and a $20 returned check fee will be assessed. You may use
    these checks through the mail or in-person only.