Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top


Twenty-five Eastern student-athletes were named to the Little East Conference All-Academic Team for the 2013 spring season. Coupled with 23 fall academic qualifiers in five sports, and 18 in five winter sports, Eastern amassed a total of 66 All-Academic achievers during the 2012-13 academic year. This year's total gives Eastern 441 qualifiers in the six-year history of the All-Academic program. To qualify for the team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore athletic and academic status with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.30.

Eastern's men's basketball team scored a 74-60 victory over top-seeded Westfield State University in the championship game of the 2013 ECAC New England Division III Tournament at the Woodward Center in Westfield, MA. The ECAC title is the first in men's basketball for Eastern. Junior forward Mike Garrow (Terryville) was named tournament MVP.

For the fourth time overall, the Eastern women's swim team achieved Division III Scholar All-America status from the College Swimming Coaches' Association of America (CSCAA). As a team, Eastern's 25 student-athletes achieved an aggregate grade-point average of 3.13 this past spring.

Eastern was one of only four institutions nationwide and the only one from New England to have both its men's and women's soccer programs qualify for a 2012 National Soccer Coaches' Association of America (NSCAA) Ethics Award. The Eastern men's and women's soccer team both qualified for a Bronze Team Ethics Award for accumulating 10 or fewer yellow cards and no red cards over the course of the 2012 season.

Arielle Cooper '13 became the first third baseman in Eastern history to earn first-team All-America honors when she was named at that position by the National Fastpitch Coache'' Association (NFCA). She was also named ECAC New England Division III softball Player-of-the-Year and LEC Player-of-the-Year.

Daniela Marchitto '13 was selected first-team All-LEC in both women's soccer and women's lacrosse and was additionally honored as LEC Midfielder-of-the-Year in lacrosse.

Eastern senior forward Jamie Kohn '13 and junior point guard Joe Ives represented Eastern on the 2011-12 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court, which was announced in August 2012. A total of 469 men's basketball players representing 203 Division I, II, III and NAIA institutions were recognized in the Honors Court for excellence in the classroom. Candidates must have reached junior status and have compiled a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average through the spring semester. Kohn and Ives were the only players to qualify from the Little East Conference.

In May, Eastern athletic trainer Julie Glode Alexander '90 was selected as the 2013 recipient of the Athletic Trainer-of-the-Year Award by the Connecticut Athletic Trainers' Association.

The 19th Eastern Connecticut State University E-Club Hall of Fame class was inducted during ceremonies on Oct. 21, 2012. Inductees were Erin (Byrnes) Klemyk '01 (women's lacrosse), Scott Chiasson (baseball), Norman Worthington '90 (baseball), Michelle Cunningham '09 (volleyball and softball) and Donna Poyant '93 (softball). Everett Watson '54 and Dr. Gerard Lawrence were presented with the Michael A. Atkind Exceptional Service Award during the ceremonies.

Brittany Garnelis '13 and Julie Pietrycha '13 and junior Stephanie Johnson were named as 2012-13 recipients of the Holly E. Zimmerman Memorial Award. The awards were presented between games of a Jan. 26 women's and men's basketball doubleheader at Francis E. Geissler Gymnasium.

From left: Hall of Fame chair Scott Smith; Erin (Byrnes) Klemyk '01, Scott Chiasson, Norm Worthington, Michelle Cunningham and Donna Poyant