Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top

University Meeting Kicks Off Fall 2018 Semester

Published on September 04, 2018

University Meeting Kicks Off Fall 2018 Semester

On Aug. 28, Eastern President Elsa Núñez greeted everyone and told new faculty and staff that her theme this year is “Building Our Future on a Strong Foundation.” Núñez shared good news on Eastern’s balanced budget, steady enrollment, construction projects and other operational issues–all cornerstones of the strong foundation on which Eastern builds its future. She reminded everyone that “students are the reason for our existence. Eastern depends on enrollments to generate the revenue we need to fund our operations.”

Núñez cited remodeling projects underway in Goddard and Shafer Halls and noted that the biggest change to the University campus this fall was the opening of the newly renovated Communication Building. Originally constructed in the early 1970’s, the building’s extensive renovations include new state-of-the-art facilities for television production, sound recording, audio production and video editing. All of the classrooms have been upgraded with new equipment; the television studio and radio station are now revamped; and three new computer labs were constructed. The foyer of the building features a lounge, study space and new meeting room.

Núñez expressed great satisfaction at the collaboration taking place between the NEASC Steering Committee, the new COFE 3 group and the Employability Council, as Eastern prepares for reaccreditation in 2020, refines its Strategic Plan and prepares students for the workplace of the future. She said Eastern’s innovation, excellence and resilience make it a powerful leader in higher education in Connecticut.

During the meeting, the University recognized several individuals for 10 years of service, including Kemesha Wilmot, associate director of the Center for Community Engagement; Casey Kensey, assistant director in Student Activities; Ann Anderberg, associate professor of education; Political Science, Philosophy and Geography Professor Caitlin Carenen; Performing Arts Professor Jennifer Cobb; Psychology Professor James Diller; Lyndsey Leitzel-Lanagan, associate professor of psychology; Professor of Kinesiology and Physical Education Professor Anita Lee; and Nicholas Parsons, associate professor of sociology.

Awards for 20 years of service were presented to Mildred Chayer, assistant registrar; Psychology Professors Margaret Letterman and Peter Bachiochi; Susan Derosa, associate professor of English; English Professors Barbara Liu and Kenneth McNeil; JoAnn Pomo, secretary in public safety; and Kinesiology and Physical Education Professor Darren Robert.

Those celebrated for 25 years of service include David Bachand, director of system infrastructure and telecommunications in Information Technology; Business Administration Professor Branko Cavarkapa; Stacey Close, associate vice president of equity and diversity; Visual Arts Professor Ann Dawson; and Mathematics Professor Mizan Khan.

Retirees were honored as well, including Paul Melmer, media technology manager in Media Services; Political Science, Philosophy and Geography Professor Hope Fitz; Enlgish Professor Elena Tapia; and Mark Horbray, stationary engineer in Facilities.

Written by Dwight Bachman

Categories: Student Services