Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top
decorative element

Need to make changes to your fall schedule?

August 23: Last day to ADD courses in your eWeb account

August 24 – September 9: Instructor approval required to ADD courses.
Directions: https://www.easternct.edu/registrar/forms/adding-courses.html

Now – September 9: Courses can be DROPPED in your eWeb account

Have Questions? Need Help Updating Your Schedule? Contact the Advising Center!
advise@easternct.edu | 860-465-4526

decorative edge
The Registrar’s Office, Financial Aid Office, Library and Advising Center are currently open for limited face-to-face student appointments as of August 17, 2020.
decorative edge

Academics

When will Eastern open in the fall?

  • Fall classes will begin on August 26, 2020
  • All campus-based classes, including exams, will move online after Thanksgiving break

What will teaching and learning look like?

  • Social distancing (six feet between persons) requires classroom reconfiguration
  • Each classroom has been evaluated to determine maximum capacity
  • Each classroom’s capacity will be posted
  • Students and faculty will be expected to wear face masks in class
  • Faculty and students will be able to use disinfecting products to clean classroom facilities prior to the start of each class
  • Faculty will be provided face shields on request, which must be worn in combination with face masks to provide effective protection
  • Additional larger spaces not normally used for classrooms will also be utilized
  • Many classes will be offered as hybrids, with students alternating every other class between the classroom and taking the class remotely (“Rotating Student” model)
  • For larger classes and where adequate space allows, all students will be with their faculty member for one class period, rotating to remote learning for the next class period to allow other classes to utilize the space (“Rotating Class” model)
  • Some classes will be offered completely online
  • Any student not comfortable taking classes on-ground may request to take only online classes or take hybrid classes remotely. If it is a hybrid class, they will need the instructor’s permission to participate remotely all of the time.
  • Students will rotate through laboratory settings using University social distancing guidelines and other health and safety protocols. In addition, interns will continue to be placed at sites that remain open, with social distancing and other guidelines in place.

How is Eastern preparing to maximize the learning experience this fall?

  • Faculty are working with instructional developers in the Center for Instructional Technology to gain additional training and experience using a variety of online platforms, including Blackboard, Panopto, WebEx, and MS Teams
  • The University has received a grant to train faculty in online and hybrid instruction
  • The University is upgrading classrooms on campus to improve remote learning. Those upgrades include webcams, microphones, and other technology.

Will faculty still schedule office hours for students?

  • Faculty will schedule virtual office hours and advising for the fall 2020 semester
  • Faculty will use virtual, online tools to conduct student “office” visits/meetings
  • Will Eastern students have the needed software and hardware for online instruction?
  • We have sufficient VPN licenses and licenses for online platforms to accommodate students’ and faculty software needs
  • The University will work with students on a case-by-case basis to provide computing resources if they do not have access themselves
  • A system of wireless network access points is being developed across Connecticut to accommodate students’ wireless needs when they are off-campus and do not have wireless service on their own
  • WiFi service has been upgraded in Laurel, High Rise, Neijadlik, Shafer and Noble residence halls.

Is Eastern prepared to go fully online in the fall if necessary?

  • We are preparing to offer on-ground, hybrid and online courses in the fall
  • The University is providing faculty development over the summer and adjusting other campus functions, systems, and processes to allow the University to move to an online semester should on-ground circumstances change
  • All courses, including exams, will go online after Thanksgiving break

How will academic support services be provided?

  • The University is prepared to offer advising, tutoring and other academic support services online as needed
  • On a limited basis, the Financial Aid Office and Registrar’s Office will be open on ground with protective barriers between students and staff in those offices
  • The Advising Center and Math Achievement Center may have limited on-ground appointments with barriers separating students and staff
  • For more information on the Academic Success Center, visit https://www.easternct.edu/academic-services/index.html
  • For assistance or questions, contact advise@easternct.edu or (860) 465-4526.

Will the library be open? What safety protocols will be in place?

  • The library will be open but limited to 50% capacity
  • Students can contact librarians via online chat and e-mail or call 1-877-587-8693 for help on research resources or reference questions
  • Students can contact library staff by phone 860-465-4506 for help
  • Fines accrued during any state or university shutdowns will be forgiven
  • The library will be open only to Eastern students and employees
  • Plexiglass will be used to shield employees/students in close contact areas
  • Masks must be worn, and social distancing guidelines followed
  • The library will be subject to the same cleaning protocols used in other buildings

Will Webb 410 be open as a general computer lab?

  • Webb 410 will be converted for large computer-based classes and will not be available as a general computer lab during the fall semester

For More Information

  • Contact your instructor first

Department chairs

  • Accounting/BIS: Alex Citurs (citursa@easternct.edu)
  • Art and Art History: Terry Lennox (lennoxt@easternct.edu)
  • Management and Marketing: Niti Pandey (pandeyn@easternct.edu)
  • Biology: Elizabeth Cowles (cowlese@easternct.edu)
  • Communication: Andrew Utterback (utterbacka@easternct.edu)
  • Computer Science: Sarah Tasneem (tasneems@easternct.edu)
  • Economics and Finance: Maryanne Clifford (cliffordm@easternct.edu)
  • Education: Sudha Swaminathan (swaminathans@easternct.edu)
  • English: Barbara Liu (liub@easternct.edu)
  • Environmental Earth Science: Dickson Cunningham (cunninghamw@easternct.edu)
  • Health Sciences: Yaw Nsiah (nsiah@easternct.edu)
  • History: Jamel Ostwald (ostwaldj@easternct.edu)
  • Kinesiology/Physical Education: Greg Kane (kaneg@easternct.edu)
  • Management and Marketing: Niti Pandey (pandeyn@easternct.edu)
  • Mathematical Science: Marsha Davis (davisma@easternct.edu)
  • Music: Okon Hwang (hwango@easternct.edu)
  • Political Science: Nicole Krassas (krassasn@easternct.edu)
  • Physical Science: John Toedt (toedtj@easternct.edu)
  • Psychological Science: Carlos Escoto (escotoc@easternct.edu)
  • Social Work: Eunice Matthews (matthewse@easternct.edu)
  • Sociology, Anthropology, Criminology: Cara Bergstrom-Lynch (berstromlynchc@easternct.edu)
  • Theatre: David Pellegrini (pellegrinid@easternct.edu)
  • World Languages: Kin Chan (chank@easternct.edu)

Deans

  • Elizabeth Scott, Education and Professional Studies (scotte@easternct.edu)
  • Carmen Cid (cid@easternct.edu)

Provost

  • Bill Salka (salkaw@easternct.edu)