Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top
decorative element

Published on July 07, 2020

Congratulations to 2020 History scholarship and award winners

Every year, the History department faculty grant a number of awards to well-deserving History majors. We normally confer these awards during the annual graduating senior event held in Webb Hall. This year’s in-person event had to be cancelled due to COVID-19, so we instead held a virtual ceremony, which combined several different year-end events into one single digital celebration. Not every award winner could attend, so we wanted to recognize the winners of the awards, both graduating seniors and seniors-to-be. In normal times, we post large photos of the chair shaking hands with each award winner. Since nobody sent me a photo, you’ll just have to imagine the award winners smiling at the camera and proudly holding their digitally-signed certificate in hand:


Emily Grout: Dr. Thomas Anderson Memorial Prize

Jacob Avery: Victoria Leigh Soto ‘08 Memorial Fund Award

Michelle Saracovan: Ann and Kenneth Tucker Scholarship

Tyler Hall: David M. Roth Scholarship


Jennifer Colla: Outstanding History Major

Emily Grout: Outstanding History/Social Science Major

Allen Horn: Outstanding History/American Studies Major

Brianna Alessio: Outstanding Service to the Department

Abigail Demarkey: Student Marshal


Faculty teaching senior seminars also give an award for the best History seminar paper written in their course. The winners for 2019-2020 were:

Raven Dillon, “Maleficents or matriarchs: an analysis of Olympias and Adea Eurydice” (Dr. Kamola, Fall 2019).

Emily Grout, “The Power of Religion: Jewish-American Influence on American Foreign Policy, 1903-1918” (Dr. Carenen, Fall 2019).

Michelle Saracovan, “Tiger Hunting in British Colonial India and its Role in Imperialistic Endeavors” (Dr. Davis, Spring 2020).

Jennifer Colla, “Tides of Change: From Carter to Reagan.” (Dr. Balcerski, Spring 2020).

Congratulations to you all on jobs well done!

Details on all the scholarships and awards, and their requirements, can be found under the Awards and Scholarships section of the main History department webpage:

Written by Jamel Ostwald