Skip to Main Site Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Back To Top
decorative element

Henry Barnard Distinguised Student Award

Recognizing Academic Achievement & Community Service

12 outstanding college seniors who attend Central, Eastern, Southern and Western Connecticut State Universities are honored each academic year by the CSUS Foundation during the annual Henry Barnard Distinguished Student Awards Banquet, which has been held in the spring for 30 years.

The award is named for Henry Barnard, the first U.S. commissioner of education and a distinguished Connecticut educator, who was the state’s first superintendent of schools and principal of what later became Central Connecticut State University.

 30 Years of Barnard Scholars

Year Awarded Name
2021 Hannah Beazoglou, Justin Gomez-Stafford
2020 Stefanos Stravoravdis, Evelyn Lemus Silva
2019 Jacob Dayton, Haley Knox
2018 Nadia Balassone, Yuberki Delgadillo
2017 Elizabeth Del Buono, Kevin Connolly
2016 Sabreena Croteau, Quanece Williams
2015 Richard Magner, Jessica Patrizi
2014 Erin Conn, Eric Cerino
2013 Laura Hilton, Suzanne Slater
2012 Brittney Cava, Kathryn Harner
2011 Michelle Kaczynski, Connor Patros
2010 Casey Bessette, Douglas Hackenyos
2009 Sara Hanrahan, Tristan Holowaty Hobbes
2008 Kevin Douglas, Jenna Trudeau
2007 Adam Lachendro, Carter Lennon
2006 Sandra Boscarino, Brian Whitehead
2005 Bruce Desmarais, Robyn Rodriguez
2004 Kristina Lenda, Poyan Shojaiyan
2003 Matthew Turko, Christine Guarnieri-Benham 
2002 Christine Warren, Carla Ricci 
2001 Heather Fried, Michael Murphy 
2000 Ronald Dunham, Kimberley Ashton 
1999 Heather Wasilewski, Richard Godden 
1998 Becky Caouette, Thomas Sawicki 
1997 Janis Belair, Jeffrey Holt 
1996 Michelle Boucher, Princess Ventura
1995 William Beckwith, Heather Perry
1994 Edward Savino, Jennifer Yousefzadeh
1993 Aqualina Corn, Marc Freeman
1992 Marilyn Arsenault, Tara Wohllebe
1991 Judith Catlin, Theresa Carmo
1990 Laura Ferguson, Linda Knaus Drago
1989 Robert Rossow, Kaye Cunningham