Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Awards 2015

There are many individuals on campus and in our community who work tirelessly for the good of others. They commit their time and demonstrate a commitment to diversity, inclusion, and civic engagement. Unfortunately, the efforts of these dedicated and compassionate individuals often go unrecognized. That is why Eastern Connecticut State University presents the Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Award – to honor individuals who best exemplify the teachings and example of Dr. King. This year we are excited to present three awards – one to an Eastern faculty person, one to a student and one to a community member.

“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy. The true neighbor will risk his position, his prestige, and even his life for the welfare of others.” – MLK

Community Recipient
W. Reggie Hales is publisher of the Inquiring News Connecticut newspaper. Hales is also a professional photojournalist and advocate for small businesses and civil justice for people of color. For more than four decades, he has showcased success stories from different minority communities. Hales is a distinguished media consultant and mentor to students interested in journalism. A dedicated husband, father and grandfather, he also serves as president of the Hartford Enterprise Zone Business Association.

Faculty Recipient
Anthony Aidoo is a professor of mathematics at Eastern Connecticut State University. He received his Ph.D. in Mathematical Sciences from the University of Vermont. Growing up poor in Ghana, West Africa, the son of illiterate parents, Aidoo could not afford to attend high school. However, after training to be a teacher, he studied at home to gain admission to the University of Science and Technology in Kumasi, Ghana. Aidoo’s hard work as an undergraduate student paid off when he received several offers for full assistantships to study for his Ph.D. in mathematics in the United States. When he is not teaching or doing research at Eastern, Aidoo volunteers as an advisor to students in his native Ghana. He also volunteers as a tutor to minority students studying for their GED in the Windham Neighborhood Renovations and Training Program.

Student Recipient
Jonah Craggett is a first-generation student from New Haven. During the past four years, Craggett has dedicated his time and energy to spreading awareness of diversity issues and inclusion to the Eastern campus community. He serves as vice president of the Black Student Union and is a third-year resident assistant in Noble Hall. A talented writer and speaker, Craggett wants to pursue a career in journalism. Through community outreach with New Haven’s churches and city administrators, he seeks to reestablish New Haven’s urban core as a flourishing part of the greater New Haven community.

Keynote Speaker
Siobhan Carter-David is an assistant professor in the Department of History at Southern Connecticut State University, teaching in the areas of fashion and beauty studies, and African American, urban and contemporary U.S. histories. Her research explores the politics of racial uplift as represented in the fashion instruction of African American print media, as well as American fashion, beauty culture and the politics of presentation. Carter-David has written and given numerous talks on hip-hop, culture and clothing, magazine culture and urban style. As a public historian, she has worked with museum curators on projects involving various facets of African American cultural history. She is currently working on a book manuscript, “Issuing the Black Wardrobe: Fashion and Anti-Fashion in Post-Soul Publications.”

Special Thanks To
Candice Deal, Courtney Callaway, Emma Blandford, Ken Bedini, Chartwells, Alexis Tribble-Bryant, Carlie Bermani-McCan, Jessica McDonald, Alex Andre, Olivia Beaullan, Olvie Saint-Fleur, Alycia Bright Holland, and James Holland

CT Women’s Hall of Fame: A Reflection

Post Contributor: Yamundow Jatta

On February 19th, the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame was invited by the Women’s Center to present at Eastern Connecticut State University. Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame is an educational outreach organization whose mission is to publicly honor the achievements of Connecticut women. They preserve their stories, educate the public and inspire the continued achievements of women and girls.

During this event, we learned a lot about many women in Connecticut that have done amazing things but are often lost or overlooked by history books. The speaker that came on this day was particularly focused on the achievement of black women throughout history. From Jewel Plummer Cobb, who led the way for equal access to education and professional opportunities for women and minorities, to Denise Lynn Nappier, a woman of firsts: she was the first woman elected State Treasurer in Connecticut history, the first African American woman elected State Treasurer in the United States, and the first African American woman elected to any statewide office in Connecticut.

Although we wish more came to learn about the amazing women that are from our very own state, the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame has a website that can be accessed by anyone. For those that missed the event, they can read all about these amazing women online.

Students that attended this event were very interested in the topics discussed. Since it was a small group, it was more interactive with questions being asked and answered throughout the presentation. Overall, I would say the event was a success but we would like to see more people attend it next time. Next time we hope to collaborate with the Women’s Studies professors, who can give out extra-credit to students that attend the event.

Confidence Talk

CWHF LogoThursday, February 19, 2015 | 1 pm – 2 pm | Student Center, Room 115

Join us for a talk with a presenter from the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame about women who have overcome great adversity within their lives. Attendees will learn about various women through history, including: Marian Anderson, Denise Nappier, Jewel Plummer Cobb, and Martha Franklin. To learn more about the Connecticut Women’s Hall of Fame, you check out their website. Their mission is to publicly honor the achievements of Connecticut women, preserve their stories, educate the public, and inspire the continued achievements of women and girls. This event is free and open to the public. People of all genders are encouraged to attend.