Eastern's Home Page Search  
Visitors
Text Only Version
Eastern's Home Page
Eastern's History of Excellence
1889 The Connecticut General Assembly establishes the Willimantic State Normal School, and 13 students begin instruction on the third floor of the Willimantic Savings Institute.
1893 The first male student is enrolled.
1895 A new Willimantic State Normal School is constructed on six acres of land deeded to the State by the Town of Windham in 1890.
1921 In September, 1921, Burr Hall — the school’s first dormitory — opens.
1937 Willimantic State Normal School becomes Willimantic State Teachers College, as the College begins offering a four-year curriculum and granting B.A. degrees. 
1946 Shafer Hall, dedicated in November 1946, is built to replace the original Normal School building, which had been lost to fire.
1958 The College establishes its first graduate program — in education.
1967 Willimantic State College is renamed Eastern Connecticut State College
1983 Eastern becomes Eastern Connecticut State University
1988 President David G. Carter, Sr. begins his tenure as Eastern’s president.
2006 Elsa Núñez becomes sixth president of the University.
Executive Vice President Mike Pernal
Explore The Campus Explore The Area