The Jean H. Thoresen ECSU-AAUP Scholarship

The ECSU Chapter of the AAUP announces a scholarship program for ECSU undergraduate students conducting independent or collaborative research projects. The Jean H. Thoresen ECSU-AAUP Scholarship will be awarded to assist with the costs involved in completing one or more research or creative projects and/or presenting research at an academic conference. Successful applicants may receive up to $500 per application.

Applicants must write their own proposal, even if it is a collaborative project. Only one application per student will be reviewed per semester. It is the student’s responsibility to provide all requested information. Note: Incomplete applications will not be reviewed.

Details and the application materials can be found at

Science Building 165
Email: (Note: Thoresen Application in subject line)
Applications for Spring 2017 are due by Friday, April 7th at 5pm.

Complete proposals will be evaluated by the ECSU-AAUP Executive Board. The proposal(s) deemed most-competitive by the Executive Board will be selected for funding. Incomplete applications will not be funded.

Upon completion of a funded project, a brief project report must be filed with the ECSU-AAUP office. This report must include documentation of how the scholarship funds were spent. Final Report Form is available from .

Dr. C. A. Carlson, Environmental Earth Science, 261 Science Bldg, (860) 465-5218,