Our Staff

Our Staff 1.1

Lynn Stoddard, Director

Phone: (860) 465-2813

Email: stoddardl@easternct.edu

Lynn has served as the Executive Director of the Institute for Sustainable Energy at Eastern Connecticut State University since 2014. Under Lynn’s leadership, the Institute spearheaded and administers Sustainable CT, a voluntary certification program that provides a roadmap and resources to help communities become more efficient, healthy, economically vibrant, resilient, collaborative, and livable. Lynn serves on the Governor’s Council on Climate Change, is a board member of the CT Green Building Council, and is an inaugural fellow in the Donella Meadows Leadership Fellows Program. She has over twenty years of experience in developing public policy and managing a broad range of environmental programs in areas including: climate change, energy efficiency, recycling, solid waste planning, pollution prevention, and coastal area management. Lynn holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology and Political Science from Bucknell University and a Master’s Degree in Regional Planning from the University of Pennsylvania.


Jessica LeClair, Energy Technical Specialist For Sustainable CT

Phone: (860) 465-0258

Email: leclairj@easternct.edu

Jessica is a part of the Sustainable CT initiative at ISE, serving as the Institute’s liaison to municipalities. In this role Jessica directs municipal outreach, manages ongoing community engagement, and identifies and develops training opportunities for communities. Prior to joining ISE, Jessica was the Program Manager at the CT Institute for Resilience and Climate Adaptation. In that role, Jessica supported and tracked the Institute’s research and outreach projects intended to increase resilience and sustainability of vulnerable communities in Connecticut to the growing impacts of climate change. Jessica also worked as an Environmental Analyst at the State of CT Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP), working in the Office of Climate Change, Technology, and Research. Among her many roles at DEEP, Jessica was responsible for producing the State’s annual greenhouse emissions inventory as well as assisting with the development and implementation of emissions reduction strategies from multiple sectors, most notably transportation. Jessica also oversaw the State’s Offsets program of the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative.

IMG_9003Alyssa Norwood, Energy Technical Specialist for Sustainable CT

Phone: (860) 465-0297

Email: norwooda@easternct.edu

Alyssa manages the certification process and provides legal counsel to Sustainable CT, a voluntary certification program to accelerate municipal sustainability actions.  Alyssa earned her Juris Doctor with honors and her Master of Public Health Degree in Health Law and Policy from the University of Connecticut. She earned her Bachelor of Arts degree cum laude in Biology from Harvard University. She formerly served as Project Manager for Connecticut’s Legislative Commission on Aging, where she led the state’s livable communities initiative and served as a policy expert on wide-ranging health, planning and zoning, transportation and housing issues. Alyssa has worked for numerous health policy organizations, including the Connecticut Association of Directors of Health and the Connecticut Health Foundation. Alyssa began her career as an attorney at the law firm of Robinson and Cole.

img_8127_27186479293_oJenna Lafleur, University Assistant

Email:  lafleurj@easternct.edu

Jenna came to the ISE as a credit intern in the summer of 2015. She was hired to the staff after graduating in the fall with a BSc in Communication. She has contributed to the production of videos designed to raise awareness about recycling at Eastern. Jenna helps draft ISE press releases, make website postings, and provide general outreach on events and activities.



Zachary Stygar, University Assistant

Email: stygarz@easternct.edu

Zac recently graduated from Eastern Connecticut State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Information Systems. He worked as an intern at the Institute for Sustainable Energy starting in May 2016 and was hired as staff in May 2017. His work revolves around database and website creation and edits. Zac, in partnership with the Center for Community engagement, created the “Warrior Food Recovery Program”. This program delivers unused and unspoiled food from Eastern’s dining services to the Willimantic Covenant Soup Kitchen for others to eat. Zac will continue his work at ISE helping with the new “Sustainable CT” website along with support on other IT related applications.

Student Interns at The ISE

6-2017 interns

Emma Avery, Environmental Earth Science Major 2019

Nadia Balassone, Business Administration and English Major 2018

Josephine Brickner, Sociology Major 2018

Tara Brooks, Environmental Earth Science Major 2018

Allison Brown, English and Environmental Earth Science Major 2020

Alex Fazzino, Sustainable Energy Studies Major 2018

Oscar Gomez, Environmental Earth Science Major 2018