Two Students Awarded Travel Funds

The Department of Psychological Science has awarded two student research grants:

Michael K. Pelletier received funding to present his project, Increasing Composting on a College Campus (co-authored by Melanie Byrne), at the Berkshire Association for Behavior Analysis & Therapy annual meeting.

Rachel Pilver received funding to present her project, Improving the Public Image of Psychology: Who Should Interventions Target?, at the New England Psychological Association annual meeting.

Winter 2018

In just a couple of weeks, the schedule for Winter and Spring 2018 will be live. Wintersession courses are a great way to catch up if you are behind or work ahead if you want to finish your degree sooner. Below are a list of courses that the department is planning to offer this upcoming Winter semester.

Please note that this list is NOT guaranteed – the university will cancel classes due to low enrollment if there are too few students registered. Usually this is done one week prior to the start of the course. You should have a backup plan in case the course you want to take gets cancelled.

  • PSY 208 – Psychology of Adolescence
  • PSY 230 – Family Psychology
  • PSY 301 – Abnormal Psychology
  • PSY 435 – Controversies in Child Psychology

Exit Exam for December 2017 Graduates

One of the requirements for graduation is taking the Psychology Exit Exam. If you are graduating in December 2017, and have not taken and passed this exam in the Spring 2017 semester, you will need to plan to attend one of the exit exam sessions. During this session, you will complete a national, standardized test with Psychology content. Students scoring below the 50th percentile (on national norms) will be required to complete a remedial exercise prior to commencement. Below are the dates for the exit exam this semester so that you can plan to attend one. Later in the semester, you will receive an email asking you to sign up for a session.

Exit Exam Dates
Monday 11/6 4:00pm
Thursday 11/9 7:00pm

Remedial Exercise Dates
Monday 11/27 4:00pm
Thursday 11/30 7:00pm

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Dr. Keyes.

Assumption College Clinical Counseling Program

Are you considering an M.A. or C.A.G.S. in Clinical Counseling Psychology? Do you know someone who is? Assumption College is hosting an Information Session to learn how a graduate degree from Assumption can launch and advance careers.

Wednesday, September 13
5:30 p.m.
Assumption College, Carriage House
All attendees will receive an application fee waiver.

Register here.

Volunteer Research Position at the Institute of Living (Hartford)

The Anxiety Disorders Center (the Institute of Living, Hartford Hospital) is seeking motivated, dependable undergraduate students to assist with research studies and database management. Students will be involved in research on anxiety disorders including hoarding disorder, cognitive behavioral therapy, psychophysiology, and neuroimaging. Opportunities are available to attend research meetings, observe MRI sessions, and observe clinical intake assessments.


  • Prepare and maintain study records
  • Data entry using SPSS and Excel
  • Literature review to gather research information
  • Participant recruitment for studies


  • Basic knowledge of psychology and research methodology
  • Strong interpersonal, organizational, and analytical skills
  • Psychology or Neuroscience major preferred
  • Minimum GPA 3.0
  • Minimum time commitment of 8-10 hours per week
  • Experience using SPSS and Excel

Interested applicants, please email a cover letter and CV/resume to:
Phone: 860.545.7391

Fall 2017 Events

Put these on your calendar now; more details will follow in later posts!

Psychology Club will be meeting in the Student Center on Mondays at 3:00 – 4:00 PM.

We will be holding an Alumni Event in the Betty Tipton Room on November 14 from 5:00 to 9:00 PM. This is an opportunity to have students meet with our Alumni from various disciplines about graduate school and current work. Last year we had over 20 alumni return from I/O, BA, Clinicians and researchers. This year our speaker will be from Industrial Organizational Psychology.

Our annual Psychological Science event will be held on November 27 from 3:00 – 4:30 PM. As in the past, this event will feature presentations of research from our majors, including a poster and oral session.