Eastern Connecticut State University
Text Only Version

The e-newsletter of Eastern Connecticut State University

Eastern's Home Page

Eastern Honors Recipients of Annual Ella T. Grasso Award

grasso awards image.jpgEastern hosted its fifth annual Ella T. Grasso Distinguished Service Award reception on March 20 in the Paul E. Johnson Sr. Community Conference Room of the J. Eugene Smith Library. Senior Isaiah Roby; Ann Higginbotham, professor and chair of the History Department; and Ruth Washington, former professor of the University of Connecticut's Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, were named award recipients. The Grasso Award Program recognizes leaders who have made contributions towards advancing women's rights and issues of gender equality in memory of former Connecticut Gov. Ella T. Grasso.

"We are an institution built on values. Among those are the values of inclusion, empowerment and integrity," said Eastern President Elsa Núñez. "I believe that protecting women's rights and recognizing those who are taking the lead in working for gender equality is fundamental to upholding the values of our institution, so, tonight is not simply a celebration; it is an affirmation. To our awardees this evening, thank you and congratulations. Through your leadership and service, our campus is a better place to learn; our community is a better place to live, and our state is stronger."

Roby '13, a senior with a double major in psychology and women and gender studies, is carrying a 3.71 GPA. He serves as president of the student organization "Pride Alliance," and is a student representative to Eastern's Diversity and Social Justice Council. Roby also serves as a volunteer at St Paul's Church, helping church members beautify Willimantic, plant trees and raise money for the Covenant Soup Kitchen. Roby also interns in the Women's Center, which promotes the advancement of women's rights and gender equity.

Higginbotham serves on the Committee for the Status of Women of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), and is a member of the Connecticut/Rhode Island Conference of Women's Studies Directors/Faculty. She is also a senator on Eastern's University Senate. Higginbotham received Eastern's Distinguished Professor Award in 2004 for her teaching and mentoring, and has led the History Department in developing courses on family and women's history and family in Western society.

Washington is a founding member of Know Your Value: Women of Color Alliance, a new not-for-profit organization created to examine the wealth gap between women of color and other groups of women. Washington also started Forward Education and Consulting LLC, which provides comprehensive services specializing in diversity in higher education, especially in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

(Above left, Starsheemar Byrum, coordinator of the Womens Center and right, Eastern President Elsa Núñez, with winners of Eastern's 2013 Ella T. Grasso Distinguished Service Award: Ann Higginbotham, professor and chair of the History Department; Ruth Washington, former professor of the University of Connecticut's Department of Molecular and Cell Biology; and Eastern student Isaiah Roby.)


Calendar of Events