Eastern Connecticut State University
Text Only Version

The e-newsletter of Eastern Connecticut State University

Eastern's Home Page

English Department Hosts English Night

English Night-Campo Award winner holdridge and McNeil.jpgRebecca Holdridge '13, a senior majoring in English, was named recipient of the Constance Campo Scholarship on Dec. 5 during "English Night" in the Paul E. Johnson Community Conference Room of the J. Eugene Smith Library.  Holdridge maintains a GPA of 3.98 and is the vice president of the Eastern chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the national English honor society, and also serves as secretary of Eastern's chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society.

The Constance Campo Scholarship was established in memory of Constance Campo, a longtime member of the English Department staff.  The scholarship is presented to a non-traditional student who has demonstrated excellence in his or her studies, and is awarded to someone who has shown sensitivity to gender and diversity issues, as did Campo. Holdridge currently is a teacher's assistant to English Professor Reginald Flood in his African American Literature class, and is enrolled in the Immigrant American Literature class for her senior seminar. During the spring 2012 semester, she held an internship with English Professor Jian-Zhong Lin, where she worked on "The Connecticut Review," a literary journal published by the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities.

English Night- sigma tau delta inductees.jpgTodd Mitnick won the department's First Year Writing Award for his work "Unforeseen Faith." Honorable Mention went to Kyle Marrotte for her work, "A Call for the Immediate Repeal of Copyright." Shelbie Greene presented, "Structural Conceptual Metaphors Illustrate the Futility and Immorality of Capitalism in Keep the Aspidistra Flying." Lisa Petropoulos presented, "A Testimony to the Trauma of the Cambodian Genocide: Silence and 'Talking Back' in Loung Ung's Memoir First They Killed My Father." Adam Phelps presented, "Conceptual Metaphor in M.T. Anderson's Feed ." Above, "Constance Campo Scholarship" winner Rebecca Holdridge with English Department chair Kenneth McNeil, and inductees into the Sigma Tau Delta English honor society pose for a photograph. Inductees included Adam Phelps, Rebecca Holdridge, Angela DiLella, Emily Story, Anna Sobanski, Eric Alan, Nathan Babinski, Kaylin Brennan, Nicole Bruno, Alyssa Clark, Caitlin Emerson, Shelbie Greene, Kevin Jacobsen, Kaitlyn Kennedy, Megan Kennett, Ashley Kus, Katie Levis, Tricia Murray, Anna Sobanski and Kristen Wheeler.


Calendar of Events