Eastern Connecticut State University
Text Only Version

The e-newsletter of Eastern Connecticut State University

Eastern's Home Page

Hall of Fame Inducts Five Warriors

hall of fall.jpgThe 19th Eastern Connecticut State University E-Club Hall of Fame class was inducted during ceremonies on Oct. 21, 2012, in the Betty R. Tipton Room. Pictured with Hall of Fame chair Scott Smith (far left) are Erin (Byrnes) Klemyk, Scott Chiasson, Norm Worthington, Michelle Cunningham and Donna Poyant. South Windsor native Klemyk played lacrosse from 1996 through 1999; Norwich native Chiasson baseball from 1996 through 1998; Narragansett, RI, native Worthington baseball from 1986 through 1990; Barnstable, MA, native Cunningham volleyball and softball between 1995 and 1998; and New Bedford, MA, native Poyant softball from 1990 through 1993.

Everett Watson '54 (center) and Gerard J. Lawrence, MD (right) were  presented with the Michael A. Atkind Exceptional Service Award during the Hall of Fame ceremonies. Also shown at far left is Hall of Fame chair Scott Smith. Following a four-year basketball career, Watson continued to serve the University on a volunteer basis as president of the E-Club and also served a 12-year term on the E-Club Hall of Fame Committee. Dr. Lawrence was the Eastern athletic department's original team physician, serving as Eastern's orthopaedic surgeon from 1969 until 2001. Lawrence was formerly the chief surgeon in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Windham Hospital. The Atkind Award has been presented in conjunction with the E-Club Hall of Fame since 1992 in memory of Michael A. Atkind '75, who served as administrator of baseball affairs and Alumni Field supervisor from 1973 until his death in 1991.


Calendar of Events