Eastern Connecticut State University
Text Only Version

The e-newsletter of Eastern Connecticut State University

Eastern's Home Page

Spring University Meeting

IMG_7509.jpgAt the spring University Meeting on May 8, President Elsa Núñez reviewed the progress made over the past five years under Eastern's 2008-13 Strategic Plan, citing "the three foundation stones of Eastern" -- its people, the lessons learned from planning and the progress made towards become a premier public liberal arts university. Núñez also announced that Political Science Professor William Salka will be her co-chair for the next Strategic Planning Committee, which will begin its work this fall.  (Click here for Dr. Núñez's complete remarks.)

At the meeting, English Professor Raouf Mama was honored with the 2012 Distinguished Professor Award. History Professor Jamel Ostwald was named recipient of a 2012 Connecticut State University System Research Award, while Environmental Earth Science Professor Peter Drzewiecki was named recipient of a 2012 Connecticut State University System Teaching Award. Phyllis Waite Endowed Chair Jeffrey Trawick-Smith was honored for being named a CSU Professor.

Excellence Awards were presented to Education Professor Sudha Swaminathan for full-time teaching; to Nicholas Simon for part-time teaching in the Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work Department; and to Business Administration Professor Doncho Petkov for creative activity. Amy Coffey, associate dean of Arts and Sciences, and Fran Champney, secretary in the Education Department receive Excellence Awards for Service.

Ten-year service awards were presented to Donna Snell, Nancy Harper, David Mariasi and Charles Warrington. A twenty-year service award was presented to John Luond, electrician in facilities. Twenty-five year service awards were presented to Carlos Hernandez, Peter Connell, and Beverly Canfield. Faculty promotion and tenure was also announced for 25 members of the faculty, and six retirees were honored for their 104 years of accumulated service to the University:  David Mason; Ramona Rodriguez; Mariam Hutson; Emil Pocock; David Yeo; and Fred Loxsom.


Calendar of Events