Eastern Connecticut State University
Text Only Version

The e-newsletter of Eastern Connecticut State University

Eastern's Home Page

University Meeting

Thumbnail image for Sue Law.JPG

At the May 12 University Meeting, President Núñez reviewed the status of the state budget and Connecticut's plans to reorganize the central offices of the CSUS, community colleges, Charter Oak College and the Department of Higher Education.

The president also told the faculty and staff present that Eastern's liberal arts mission and the academic performance of our students was the envy of public higher education in the state.  "Last night, I attended Thumbnail image for Kathleen Fabian.JPGthe annual Barnard Scholars banquet.  I was again reminded of the amazing transformation that takes place in our students as they mature to become scholars, engaged citizens, the leaders of tomorrow.  They are worth all the hard work and struggles we are experiencing today."

Vice President Rhona Free announced that the University had exceeded its enrollment goal of 917 freshmen deposits by May 1, thanks to the efforts of the Admissions staff, Financial Aid Office, and others.

Thumbnail image for Mike Kowalchuk.JPGTen-year service awards were presented to Jeff Smith, Monica O'Connor, Gary Lalumiere, Scott Wilson, Paul Melmer, and Mike Kowalczuk. Promotion and tenure were announced for 25 members of the faculty, in addition to 11 retirees who have contributed 234 years of accumulated service to the University. Retirees include Rick Rollason-Reese, Grace Enggas, Bob Horrocks, Sue Law, Linda Sinkoo, Roy Wilson, Paula Goyette, Andy Nilsson, Richard Reynolds, Theresa Richardson and Kathleen Fabian.

Thumbnail image for Hari Koirala.JPGEducation Professor Hari Koirala was announced as the 2011 Distinguished Professor.   Excellence Awards were announced for Brenda Whalen, Andy Nilsson, Ann Anderberg, Pat Banach, and Michael Gerich.  English Professor Chris Torockio and Art Professor Qimin Liu were announced as this year's winners of the CSUS Board of Trustees awards.



Calendar of Events