Congratulations to our New Honors Students

The History department once again recognized our outstanding majors by awarding them membership in a select group: Phi Alpha Theta, class of 2018. This History Honors society only welcomes the best junior and senior history majors, and our Eastern chapter hosted a dinner in their honor on April 5th. The event, which included a solemn candle-lighting ritual that probably dates back to the Freemasons, is a celebration of all the hard work and effort that these students have put into their studies. We expect big things of them in the future!

Honors inductees (left to right): Kenneth (Matt) Pulk, Taryn McCabe, Michael Theriault, Theresa Johnson, Christopher Ladd, banner with Ouroboros, Chelsea Dahmer, Cameron Noel, Erik Rosati, Gerry Denardi, Erica Davidson. Not pictured: Ryan Bridges, Sarah Brihan, Harrison Brooks, Michael Byne, Katerina Mazzacane.

At the same ceremony, this year’s Victoria Soto award was awarded to Taryn McCabe.

Taryn McCabe, winner of the 2018 Victoria Soto Award

Congratulations to all!


Congratulations to Phi Alpha Theta Presenters

Over the winter break two senior history majors attended the 2018 Biennial Convention for Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society, in the beautiful city of New Orleans. Both students, Alexa Potter and Adam Murphy, presented individual research projects. The students had the opportunity to share their respective projects on panels with fellow historians from across the country, gaining valuable feedback to improve their research. Alexa had this to say about the conference, “Presenting at a convention of this size was very valuable as an undergrad. I gained insight in the art of coherently presenting research in a way that captures the audience as well as challenges them. The Q&A portion provided very useful feedback on my paper along with future ideas to explore.”

Alexa presented a paper coming from her honors thesis titled “There Must be Something in the Water: The Industrial Pollution of the Naugatuck River, 1850-1930.” Adam, presented his paper which originated from his senior seminar, “A Professor’s Experience in Indonesia: Examining the Partnership Between University of Kentucky and Bogor Agricultural College 1957-1966.” He adds, “I received such valuable information from attending presentations of other historians. I attended presentations on a variety of topics including U.S-Congo diplomatic relations and Vietnam war protest music. Additionally, I attended a “how to” panel about growing successful student journals.”

In addition to attending academic panels, the students found time to appreciate local history of New Orleans, like the French Quarter, as well as trying local foods like the variety of seafood and ‘po’boys’. Alexa mentions, “The location of the convention in New Orleans provided a beautiful and historical backdrop to the four days of presentations.” Adam adds, “This experience has shown me the importance of recognizing student research and allowing them to partake in experiences like these. I would like to thank Eastern CT State University for the continued effort to make this a priority. I would encourage any student to take advantage of opportunities big and small to present their research.” Similarly, Alexa says, “I am honored to be a part of Phi Alpha Theta, and additionally, thankful to my advisors and Eastern for allowing me this opportunity.”

Adam Murphy and Alexa Potter, Phi Alpha Theta scholar-students

Congratulations new Honor Society members

Phi Alpha Theta, the national History Honors Society, was established in 1921 and now has over 400,000 members, from undergraduates History majors to History professors. At last week’s induction ceremony and dinner, the Eastern branch of PAT, Alpha Mu Alpha, was proud to welcome more than a dozen new members to that exclusive club. PAT 2017This year’s inductees include, from left to right: Samantha Normington, Alexa Potter, Andrea Slater, Adam Murphy, Alexandra Tynan, Elijah Trott, PAT banner (honorary member), Shannon Barillari, Zachary Loughead, Jared Kranc, Cassandra Morton, Taryn McCabe.
Dr. Stefan Kamola, Joseph DeMarco and Christopher Morris were also inducted, though unable to attend.

Congratulations to all for your hard work!

Phi Alpha Theta induction dinner

Congratulations to the 2015 inductees of Eastern’s chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the History Honors Society!

Eastern PAT inductees

Front row from left: Quanece Williams, Bethany Niebanck, Sister Kateri Ludick, Annie Chozick, Lauren Grenier.
Back row from left: Kyle Donovan, Morgan Considine, Emily Komornik, Richard Ashley.

Inductees not pictured: Sabreena Croteau, Talia Erris, Hannah Mamaclay, Melissa Ann Rodgers, and Connor Walsh.


On April 30, 2014, the Department of History hosted an annual event celebrating graduation of our seniors and recognizing some outstanding History majors with departmental awards. This year the reception gathered a good number of graduating seniors and their family, faculty members, and office staff. Dean Martin Levin was also in attendance. A full list of student awardees and their photos are available elsewhere on our website so please check them out!

Congratulations to History seniors and best wishes for the future! Congratulations to all the recipients of departmental awards 2014! Go Class 2014!