On May 8, the History department celebrated its graduating seniors.  Faculty and alumni joined in the festivities.

The following students received awards:


Dana Meyer – Outstanding History major


Cassie Epes – Outstanding History/Social Science Major and winner of the Dr. Thomas Anderson Memorial Prize


Katelyn Stokes – Outstanding History major with a Concentration in American Studies

Gerry Denardi – Outstanding Service to the Department


Jacob Avery – Tucker Scholarship Award


Jessica Sullivan – Roth Scholarship Award


Ron Robbilard – Best HIS 400 Seminar Paper in Fall 2018


Martha Ennis – Best HIS 407 Seminar Paper in Fall 2018

Congratulations and Adieu

This past Monday the History department hosted its annual, year-end Graduating Seniors Reception. There was crab cake, “Chinese pirogies,” and a cake even made a (brief) appearance.

Awards were distributed to our seniors for their hard work and accomplishments, and much merriment was had.

Graduating Senior Awardees

AWARDEES (Left to right, back row):
Michael Lisitano (David M. Roth Scholarship)
Lauren Grenier (Outstanding History/American Studies Major)
Sabreena Croteau (Outstanding History Major)
Emily Komornik (Outstanding History Major)
Sara Dean (Ann and Kenneth Tucker Scholarship)
Richard Astley (Outstanding History/Social Science Major)
Front row:
Melissa Rogers (Student Marshall)
Talia Erris (Outstanding History Major)


Other awards given out include those for the year’s best seminar papers:
Talia Erris for “ ‘Five Feet of Feminine Anarchy:’ Press Depictions of Emma Goldman, 1892-1901” (Dr. Carenen, Fall 2015).
Jessica Suplee for “Margaret Randall and Alma Guillermoprieto: Revolutionary Commitment and the Cuban Experience” (Fall 2015, Dr. Meznar).

The awards for the Spring 2016 senior seminars will be announced on the blog in the future.

Congratulations to all, and good luck. And don’t forget to keep in touch!

Previous Roth Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to our previous Roth Scholarship winners:

2013 Christine Geer

2012 Sylvie Chho

2011 Jennifer Levesque

2010 Michael Tierney

2009 Alexis Cavanaugh

2008 Baron Faiola

2007 Hailie Bomster

2006 Adam Brzozowski

2005 Kelly Gardner

2004 Meaghan Kehoegreen

2003 Robyn Rodriguez

2002 Ashley Stevens

2001 Asa O’Brien

2000 Michael Murphy

1999 Deborah Gray

1998 John Chapdelaine

1997 Dennis Doyle

1996 Geraldine Haddad

1995 Monique St. Jean

1994 James Wiese

1993 Kerstin Katko

1992 Christopher Hill

1991 No award

1990 Joann Koch

1989 Eric Christiansen

1988 John Wheeler

1987 Margaret Caton

David M. Roth Scholarship

In 1985, this endowed scholarship was established in remembrance of David M. Roth, renowned Connecticut historian and Eastern history professor of 23 years. It is awarded to a History or History and Social Science major with distinguished academic performance and with evidence of initiative and leadership in the field. The student will also demonstrate unmet financial need.

The History faculty recommends the senior History major with the highest academic accomplishment for the David M. Roth Scholarship.