On April 4, Alpha Mu Alpha, Eastern’s chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the highly selective national history honors society, inducted 22 new members. This year represented the largest cohort to date, reflecting the strong academic performance of our history students. 

Among those inducted included students who presented posters at the annual meeting of the American Historical Association in Washington. D.C., students who had their research published in national peer-reviewed undergraduate journals, students who offered papers at both the CSU Making History conference as well as CREATE, and also students who have been admitted to PhD programs with full fellowships.

2019 Inductees of the Alpha Mu Alpha Chapter of Phi Alpha Theta

Also recognized at this year’s ceremony was the winner of the Victoria Soto Award.  In honor and
memory of Victoria Soto, this award is given to an outstanding member of Phi Alpha Theta who intends to pursue a career in teaching. This year’s winner was Michael Theriault.