Henry Barnard Distinguished Student Award

Recognizing Academic Achievement & Community Service

To be considered for a Barnard Award, a student must have at least a 3.7 GPA and a record of significant community service. The students are nominated by their respective universities and presidents.

The award is named for Henry Barnard, the first U.S. commissioner of education, and a distinguished Connecticut educator who was the state’s first superintendent of schools and principal of what later became Central Connecticut State University.

Year AwardedName
2018Nadia Balassone, Yuberki Delgadillo
2017Elizabeth Del Buono, Kevin Connolly
2016Sabreena Croteau, Quanece Williams
2015Richard Magner, Jessica Patrizi
2014Erin Conn, Eric Cerino
2013Laura Hilton, Suzanne Slater
2012Brittney Cava, Kathryn Harner
2011Michelle Kaczynski, Connor Patros
2010Casey Bessette, Douglas Hackenyos
2009Sara Hanrahan, Tristan Holowaty Hobbes
2008Kevin Douglas, Jenna Trudeau
2007Adam Lachendro, Carter Lennon
2006Sandra Boscarino, Brian Whitehead
2005Bruce Desmarais, Robyn Rodriguez
2004Kristina Lenda, Poyan Shojaiyan