Faculty/Office Hours

Part Time Faculty
Ashley Bissonnette
Suzanne Blancaflor
Diana DiMarco
Rebecca Du
Lynn Dzinski
Peter Embriano
Rochelle Gimenez
Donnasue Graesser
Matthew Jacobs
Daniel Johnson
Cathy Kirchhoff
Scott Loescher
Jane Pasini
Peter Pellegrino
Barbara Porebska
Erica Watson
Courtney Zapadka


Professor Charles Booth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Cell Structure and Function, Physiological Ecology, Aquatic Biology, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Physiological ecology of aquatic animals
Exercise physiology of crustaceans
(860) 465-5260, Science Building, Room 357
booth@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
10:00am-11:00am
9:30am-10:30am10:00am-11:00am9:30am-10:30am10:00am-11:00am
Professor Elizabeth Cowles, Ph.D.
(Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Cell Physiology, Entomology
Research Interests: Intracellular Signaling and Toxicology
(860) 465-4385, Science Building, Room 361
cowlese@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
9:00am-10:00am2:00pm-4:00pm9:00am-10:00am- - -10:00am-11:00am
Assistant Professor Kristen Epp, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Vertebrate Biology, Animal Behavior
Research Interests: Evolutionary and Behavioral Ecology, Community Ecology of Fish and Amphibians
(860) 465-4496, Science Building, Room 367
eppk@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
2:00pm-3:30pm10:00am-12:00pm2:00pm-3:30pm- - -- - -
Assistant Professor Matthew Graham, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Invertebrate Biology, Organismal Biology, Parasitology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Biogeography and molecular systematics of terrestrial arthropods
(860) 465-3796, Science Building, Room 366
grahamm@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
12:00pm-2:00pm- - -1:00pm-2:00pm- - -12:00pm-2:00pm
Assistant Professor Amy Groth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Genetics, Biotechnology, Biology of Cancer, Molecular Genetics
Research Interests: Transcriptional control in C. elegans
Signaling pathways in development and cancer
(860) 465-3795, Science Building, Room 354
grotha@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
10:00am-11:00am
1:00pm-3:00pm
- - -10:00am-11:00am- - -10:00am-11:00am
Associate Professor Joshua Idjadi, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Marine Ecology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Community ecology of coral reefs
Coral species coexistence
Causes and consequences of coral reef decline
(860) 465-0034, Science Building, Room 365
idjadij@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2016
-None-
MTWThF
On Sabbatic Leave
for Fall 2016 semester
- - -- - -- - -- - -
Professor Ross Koning, Ph.D.
(Assistant Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Botany, Plant Physiology, Organismal Biology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Hormonal control of flower development
Genetic aspects of leaf development
(860) 465-5327, Science Building, Room 356
koning@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
10:00am-12:00pm- - -10:00am-12:00pm- - -10:00am-12:00pm
Assistant Professor Kurt Lucin, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Histology, Organismal Biology, Human Biology
Research Interests: Role of immune cells in nervous system diseases and injuries
Effects of stress on immune system
(860) 465-0493, Science Building, Room 352
lucink@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
- - -- - -2:00pm-3:00pm2:00pm-5:00pm1:00pm-2:00pm
Assistant Professor W. Brett Mattingly, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Plant Ecology, Biological Invasions, Tropical Biology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Plant community ecology
Invasive species
Restoration ecology
(860) 465-4499, Science Building, Room 364
mattinglyw@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
10:00am-11:00am- - -10:00am-11:00am
1:00pm-2:00pm
- - - 10:00am-11:00am
1:00pm-2:00pm
Assistant Professor Barbara Murdoch, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Developmental Biology, Cell Structure and Function, Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
Research Interests: Nervous system development
Molecular regulation of neurogenesis
Antibiotic discovery
(860) 465-5057, Science Building, Room 353
murdochb@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
1:00pm-3:00pm- - -11:00am-12:00pm
1:00pm-2:00pm
12:30pm-1:30pm- - -
Professor Yaw Nsiah, Ph.D.
(Director of the Health Science Program)
Courses Taught: Virology, Microbiology, Introduction to Public Health, Biotechnology
Research Interests: Development of anti-infectives against bacteria and viruses
Identification of pharmacoactive compounds from tropical plant leaves
(860) 465-4524 or (860) 465-4488, Science Building, Room 362
nsiah@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
2:00pm-3:00pm- - -9:00am-10:00am
3:00pm-4:00pm
8:00am-9:00am8:00am-9:00am
Associate Professor Patricia Szczys, Ph.D.
(John C. Hicks Endowed Chair)
Courses Taught: Genetics, Conservation Biology, Population Genetics, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Use of molecular techniques to enrich waterbird conservation
(860) 465-4324, Science Building, Room 363
szczysp@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
10:00am-11:00am- - - 10:00am-11:00am9:00am-11:00am10:00am-11:00am
Assistant Professor Vijaykumar Veerappan, Ph.D.Vijaykumar Veerappan pic
Courses Taught: Genetics, Genetics and Society
Research Interests:
Genetics of symbiotic nitrogen fixation in the model legume plant Medicago truncatula.
Regulation of seed development and seed maturation in the model plant Arabidopsis thaliana
(860) 465-5305, Science Building, Room 355
veerappanv@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2016
MTWThF
1:00pm-3:00pm9:00am-10:00am1:00pm-3:00pm- - -- - -
Mr. Stephen Shimchick, M.S.
Technical Supervisor for the Sciences
Biology Department
(860) 465-4490, Science Building, Room 308
shimchick@easternct.edu
Office Hours:
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
Mrs. Lisa Kortfelt, M.P.H.
Technical Specialist for the Sciences
Biology Department
(860) 465-0114, Science Building, Room 308
kortfeltl@easternct.edu
Office Hours:
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
Mrs. Kim Renaud
Secretary II
Biology Department
(860) 465-4369, Science Building, Room 368
renaudk@easternct.edu
Office Hours:
MTWThF
8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm8:00am-5:00pm
Mike Adams, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
adams@easternct.edu
Gloria Colurso, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
colurso@easternct.edu
Phillip Elliott, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
elliottp@easternct.edu
Michael Gable, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
gable@easternct.edu
Martin Levin, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
levin@easternct.edu
Barry Wulff, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department