Faculty/Office Hours

Part Time Faculty
Rebecca Du
Lynn Dzinski
Matthew Jacobs
Daniel Johnson
Cathy Kirchhoff
Scott Loescher
Raye Mutcherson
Yaw Nsiah
Jane Pasini
Peter Pellegrino
Michael Spencer
Caitlin Tenney
Erica Watson
Courtney Zapadka


Professor Charles Booth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Cell Structure and Function, Physiological Ecology, Aquatic Biology, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Physiological ecology of aquatic animals
Exercise physiology of crustaceans
(860) 465-5260, Science Building, Room 357
booth@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
1:30pm-3pm
- - -10:30am-11:30am10:30am-12pm10:30am-11:30am
Professor Elizabeth Cowles, Ph.D.
(Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Cell Physiology, Entomology
Research Interests: Intracellular Signaling and Toxicology
(860) 465-4385, Science Building, Room 361
cowlese@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
8am-9am
1pm-3pm
- - -1pm-2pm- - -10am-11am
Assistant Professor Kristen Epp, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Vertebrate Biology, Animal Behavior
Research Interests: Evolutionary and Behavioral Ecology, Community Ecology of Fish and Amphibians
(860) 465-4496, Science Building, Room 363
eppk@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
11am-12pm11am-1pm11am-12pm- - -11am-12pm
Assistant Professor Matthew Graham, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Invertebrate Biology, Organismal Biology, Parasitology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Biogeography and molecular systematics of terrestrial arthropods
(860) 465-3796, Science Building, Room 366
grahamm@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
12pm-2pm- - -12pm-1pm- - -12pm-2pm
Associate Professor Amy Groth, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Genetics, Biotechnology, Biology of Cancer, Molecular Genetics
Research Interests: Transcriptional control in C. elegans
Signaling pathways in development and cancer
(860) 465-3795, Science Building, Room 354
grotha@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
11am-12pm
2pm-4pm
- - -11am-12pm- - -11am-12pm
Assistant Professor Jonathan Hulvey, Ph.D.Jon Hulvey
Courses Taught: General Mycology and Organismal Biology
Research Interests: Fungal genomics, Molecular plant pathology and Fungicide resistance mechanisms
(860) 465-4368, Science Building, Room 367
hulveyj@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
- - -
2pm-4pm1pm-3pm2pm-3pm- - -
Associate Professor Joshua Idjadi, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Marine Ecology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Community ecology of coral reefs
Coral species coexistence
Causes and consequences of coral reef decline
(860) 465-0034, Science Building, Room 365
idjadij@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
10am-11am10am-11am10am-11am- - -10am-11am
12pm-1pm
Professor Ross Koning, Ph.D.
(Assistant Department Chair)
Courses Taught: Botany, Plant Physiology, Organismal Biology and Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Hormonal control of flower development
Genetic aspects of leaf development
(860) 465-5327, Science Building, Room 356
koning@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
9am-11am- - -9am-11am- - -9am-11am
Assistant Professor Kurt Lucin, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Histology, Organismal Biology, Human Biology
Research Interests: Role of immune cells in nervous system diseases and injuries
Effects of stress on immune system
(860) 465-0493, Science Building, Room 352
lucink@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
- - -- - -2pm-3pm2pm-5pm1pm-2pm
Associate Professor W. Brett Mattingly, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Ecology, Plant Ecology, Biological Invasions, Tropical Biology, Desert Ecology and Biogeography
Research Interests: Plant community ecology
Invasive species
Restoration ecology
(860) 465-4499, Science Building, Room 364
mattinglyw@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
9am-10am
11am-12pm
- - -9am-10am
11am-12pm
- - - 11am-12pm
Associate Professor Barbara Murdoch, Ph.D.
Courses Taught: Developmental Biology, Cell Structure and Function, Stem Cells and Regenerative Medicine
Research Interests: Nervous system development
Molecular regulation of neurogenesis
Antibiotic discovery
(860) 465-5057, Science Building, Room 353
murdochb@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
- - -12pm-1pm1pm-2pm12:30pm-2:30pm1pm-2pm
Professor Patricia Szczys, Ph.D.
(John C. Hicks Endowed Chair)
(Interim Director, University Honors Program)
Courses Taught: Genetics, Conservation Biology, Population Genetics, Tropical Biology
Research Interests: Use of molecular techniques to enrich waterbird conservation
(860) 465-4324, Science Building, Room 358
szczysp@easternct.edu
My Website
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
10am-12pm- - -10am-12pm- - -10am-11am
Assistant Professor Vijaykumar Veerappan, Ph.D.Vijaykumar Veerappan pic
Courses Taught: Genetics, Genetics and Society
Research Interests:
Genetics of symbiotic nitrogen fixation in the model legume plant Medicago truncatula.
Regulation of seed development and seed maturation in the model plant Arabidopsis thaliana
(860) 465-5305, Science Building, Room 355
veerappanv@easternct.edu
Office Hours: Fall 2017
MTWThF
4pm-5pm3pm-5pm- - -3pm-5pm- - -
Mr. Silas Gray, M.S., M.S.F.S.Silas Gray pic
Technical Supervisor for the Sciences
Biology Department
(860) 465-4490, Science Building, Room 308
graysi@easternct.edu
Office Hours:
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
]
Mr. Ron Corey Kaiser, B.S.Ron Pic Cropped
Technical Specialist for the Sciences
Biology Department
(860) 465-0114, Science Building, Room 308
kaiserr@easternct.edu
Office Hours:
MTWThF
8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm8:00am-3:30pm
Mrs. Kim Renaud40th Anniversary with Charlie
Secretary II
Biology Department
(860) 465-4369, Science Building, Room 368
renaudk@easternct.edu
Office Hours:
MTWThF
8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm8:00am-4:30pm
Mike Adams, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
adams@easternct.edu
Gloria Colurso, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
colurso@easternct.edu
Phillip Elliott, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
elliottp@easternct.edu
Michael Gable, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
gable@easternct.edu
Martin Levin, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department
levin@easternct.edu
Barry Wulff, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
Biology Department