Click here or hit the Enter key on your keyboard to go to our Text Only Site. Eastern Connecticut State University   Search  
Department of
Text Only Version
Athletics's Home Page

Sunday, May 13, 2007


Student-athletes honored for accomplishments in the classroom and on the field

WILLIMANTIC, Conn. -- A record  38 student-athletes (pictured at right) received an ECSU/E-Club Scholar-Athlete Award at the annual Athletic Awards Banquet held Sunday evening, May 13 at Francis E. Geissler Gymnasium. A total of 16 Outstanding Scholar-Athlete and 22 Scholar-Athlete awards were presented at the banquet, which was the stage for a number of additional academic and athletic awards, as well.

All senior athletes were also recognized at the banquet, with four-year letterwinners receiving an official Eastern watch.

The  annual Faculty Athletic Representative team trophy was presented to the women’s track and field and cross country team for having the highest aggregrate grade-point average.





Lesley Mumford (Yartmouth, MA) and Eric O’Toole (Waterbury, CT) were presented with the Bonnie J. Edmondson Senior Female SportsPerson-of-the-Year Award and Francis E. Geissler Senior Male SportsPerson-of-the-Year Award, respectively, which recognizes athletic

Bonnie J. Edmondson award-winner Lesley Mumford (with award) shown with Bonnie Edmondson (second from left) and nominees Michelle Read, Kara Bradley and Nikki Vachon.

excellence, dedication, loyalty, enthusiasm, intergiry, spirit, devotioin to the team, and community service. It is the most prestigious honor an Eastern student-athlete can receive. Mumford was a four-year member of the volleyball program, O’Toole a four-year member of the baseball program. Additional major award-winners included senior Matthew Zagura (Ellington, CT), sophomore Shawn Gilblair (Windham, CT), and senior Sandy Mosley (Goshen, CT) and freshmen Taylor MacDonald (Oak Bluffs, MA) and Kim Church (Farmington, CT) and Gregory Dinas (Stamford, CT), senior Brooke Nici (Clinton, MA). Zagura (track and field) and Gilblair (baseball) shared the Male Athlete-of-the-Year Award and Mosley (basketball) was selected to receive the Female Athlete-of-the-Year Award. MacDonald (soccer and lacrosse) and Church (soccer and softball) shared the Female Rookie-of-the-Year Award and and Dinas (track and field) accepted the Male Rookie-of-the-Year Award. Nici received the Morrell Service Award for her contributions to the athletic department as a student-worker who held a variety of positions throughout her undergraduate career.  

Francis E. Geissler award-winner Eric O'Toole (far let) with Francis E. Geissler and nominee Rory Maxwell. Additional nominees not shown were William Kopplin and Mark Lewis.

To receive a scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have completed three years of athletic participation and must show an overall grade-point average of 3.50 or above for an Outstanding Award, and a GPA of between 3.15 and 3.49 to receive a Scholar-Athlete Award.


Ashley Behrent (Colchester, CT), Cross Country, Sr. (3.57/English);  Katie D’Elia (Nesconset, NY), Swimming, Jr. (3.67/English and Secondary Education); Kristen Fallo (Redding, CT), Softball, Jr. (3.62/Physical Education); Matt Fitzgerald (Marlborough, CT), Soccer, Sr. (3.84/English); Carrie Fleischer (Tolland, CT), Soccer, Sr. (3.95/Mathematics); Jessica Keogh (Monroe, CT), Volleyball, Sr. (3.60/Sport & Leisure Management); Michael Kuslis (Watertown, CT), Track & Field, Jr. (3.74/Physical Education); Melissa Lambert (Montville, CT), Soccer, Sr. (3.57/Psychology); Mandi Levin (Farmington, CT), Swimming, Jr. (3.59/Elementary Education and History); Angela Loomis (Meriden, CT), Volleyball, Jr. (3.73/Physical Education); Carly Paine (North Haven, CT), Swimming, Jr. (3.64/History-Social Science); Melissa Roy (Wallingford, CT), Soccer, Jr. (3.69/English); Kathy Shaw (Tolland, CT), Basketball, Jr. (3.62/Accounting); Kim Spreda (Southington, CT), Field Hockey, Jr. (3.76/Elementary Education and History); Karen Taber (Deep River, CT), Softball, Sr. (3.72/Early Childhood Education and Psychology); Matthew Zagura (Ellington, CT), Track & Field, Sr. (3.55/Physical Education).



Richard Bruneau (Bristol, CT), Soccer, Jr. (3.16/Accounting); Jon Dalton (Standish, ME), Baseball, Jr.(3.30/Graphic Design); Priscilla Dougherty (Island Park, NY), Volleyball, Jr. (3.30/Business);  Bridgit Durette (Seymour, CT), Basketball, Jr. (3.42/Physical Education);  Megan Feraco (Norwich, CT), Lacrosse, Sr. (3.18/Psychology);  James Hampton (Colchester, CT), Cross Country, Jr., 3.30/Biology); Meredith Hoskins (Cumberland, RI), Swimming, Sr. (3.49/Environmental Earth Science);  Tiffany Jablonski (Colchester, CT), Track & Field, Jr. (3.36/Physical Education); Kaitlyn Kociela (Montague, MA), Swimming, Jr. (3.45/Theater);  Pat Kozloski (Waterbury, CT), Soccer, Sr. (3.18/Psychology);  Amy Lampe (Brookfield, CT), Field Hockey, Jr. (3.49/Sport & Leisure Management; Ashley Marchitto (Canton, CT), Softball, Jr. (3.31/Economics); Shane Laughran (Coventry, CT), Soccer, Sr. (3.15/Sport & Leisure Management);  Jessie Marshall (Yantic, CT), Cross Country/Track, Sr. (3.21/Graphic Design); Stephanie Peterson (Waterford, CT), Swimming, Jr. (3.43/Biology); Jessica Przygocki (Bristol, CT), Track & Field, Sr. (3.24/Accounting); Michelle Read (Wallingford, CT), Soccer, Sr., (3.30/Accounting); Megan Sheehan (Colchester, CT), Soccer, Jr. (3.28/Physical Education);  Stephanie Smith (Penacook, NH), Basketball, Jr. (3.45/Business); Jon Snedeker (Southington, CT), Lacrosse, Jr. (3.24/Business); Nikki Vachon (East Haddam, CT), Softball, Sr. (3.25/Business); Amy Zawistowski (Manchester, CT), Cross Country/Track & Field, Sr. (3.17/English and Elementary Education).

Back to Home Page