Click here or hit the Enter key on your keyboard to go to our Text Only Site. Eastern Connecticut State University   Search  
Department of
Text Only Version
Athletics's Home Page

Saturday, April 16, 2005

Normand Pariseau also recognized as Anderson Award winner

WILLIMANTIC, Conn. -- The Eastern Connecticut State University softball program honored its 1985 and 1986 NCAA Division III national championship teams today and also presented the Jeff Anderson Memorial Award during pre-game ceremonies before a Little East Conference doubleheader with Keene State College at Howard Spector Field.

This year marked the 20th anniversary of the 1985 NCAA Division III national championship team, which followed up that feat in 1986 by becoming the only program in the 23-year history of the championship to win consecutive titles.

In addition to honoring two of the program's five national championship teams, the program presented Normand Pariseau with the Jeff Anderson Memorial Award for devotion and support of the program. "Mr. Pariseau has been an integral part of the Eastern softball family," praised head coach Diana Pepin. "His knowledge and passion for the game and teaching skills have made a


 2005 Anderson Award recipient Normand Pariseau (left) with Keith Anderson (far right) and head coach

Diana Pepin (center).


significant impact upon the program."

The award is named in honor of the late Eastern student-athlete and coach, who was part of all five national championship teams as either an assistant or head coach. On hand to make the presentation was Keith Anderson, brother of the late Jeff Anderson.

Among those who were members of both the 1985 and 1986 national title teams were Eastern Hall of Famers Ginny Adler of Shelton; Andrea Costa of Fall River, MA; Cathy McGillicuddy of Fairfield and Mariann Shumbo of Moodus. That trio, along with pitcher Kim Durocher of East Freetown, MA, won titles as both freshmen and sophomores. Durocher pitched four shutouts in the championship rounds of those two national tournaments, the first of which was contested at Howard Spector Field.

Also on hand for the ceremonies was Clyde Washburne, who served as the program's first head coach and directed the Warriors to their first four titles and to national tournament appearances for seven straight years (1981-1987).

Back to Home Page