Click here or hit the Enter key on your keyboard to go to our Text Only Site. Eastern Connecticut State University   Search  
Department of
Text Only Version
Athletics's Home Page

Tuesday, Oct. 31, 2007


Each member of the Class of 2007 participated in national competition in their respective sport

 WILLIMANTIC, Conn. – Five former athletic greats – each of whomparticipated in national competition – will be inducted into the Eastern Connecticut State University Athlete Hall of Fame during the 14th induction ceremonies Nov. 4 at 11:30 a.m. at the Student Center. 

Comprising the Class of 2007 are Dennis Glynn ’82 of New London, Christia Mohan Besko ’90 of Stockton, CA and Poughkeepsie, NY, Basilio Ortiz (‘89-91) and Timothy W. Quinn ’77 of Hartford, and EugeneP.Vostinak ’70 of Ashford. 

Glynn (1982) and Ortiz (1990) played on NCAA Division III national baseball champions, while Mohan Besko led the softball team to the 1990 national title. Quinn competed in national competition three times in cross country and track, and Vostinak was a memberof back-to-back national participants in soccer.  Ortiz (1991) andMohanBesko(1990) were named their respective sport’s NCAA Division III national Player-of-the-Year in their finalseasons.

Glynn was a second baseman, Ortiz a centerfielder, Mohan Besko a pitcher, Quinn one of the program’s top distance runners, and Vostinak a defender.  Eastern Hall of Famer and former track & field All-America Dr. Bonnie Edmondson will serve as Master of Ceremonies. Tickets are priced at $45 and must be reserved in advance bycontacting Dr. David G. Yeo at 860-465-5166 or or Scott Smith at 860-465-4326 or

Back to Home Page